ariel’s groove

Duke Elington & John Coltrane…..One of the best duos of Jazz.

Posted on: May 31, 2009

“So here’s a little story that must be told…”

Duke Elington & John Coltrane – Duke Elington & John Coltrane (1962)

capsa30

You guessed right, another uncle story. So i was checking up albums at my uncle’s place and stumbled upon a black covered album with fine orange and pink fonts on it and 2 people playing the Sax and Piano. “Is this a good album uncle?” “Of course it is, one of the best Jazz albums evermade with two of the finest Jazz artists….give it a listen you’ll enjoy it”. Well I listened to him and played it….I wasn’t impressed to be honest, not because it’s a bad album but because I was too young and still listening to 50 Cent and shit so I didn’t know how to appreciate it.

2 Years has passed and I was checking my old USB key and the album was there.  “Well I remember my uncle told me it was a good album, let’s try it again” so yea I played it again and my mouth stayed wide open for about 10 min, I was amazed. The sound was so smooth, I wasalmost crying how beautiful it was, like a first surprise kiss. I guess I finaly appreciated Jazz the way it should be, I fell in love with it.

John Cotrane’s Sax playing is just at it’s best, along with Duke Elington’s Piano playing, two of the greatest Jazz artists joined together to make this marvelous album. The two has succeeded in combining their skills to make a breathtaking experience with every track you listen to. Sax playing hasn’t been done better than by John Coltrane, everything seems so smooth, so right when you ear it. Duke Elington has the talent of playing the piano so you won’t hear it, that’s right, you won’t hear it. It’s played so well done that you don’t even notice that you’re enjoying it, it’s intergrated in a way that you know it’s there but you don’t, you know you enjoy what you’re hearing but you don’t know why.  So make yourself a favor and buy this album (Not even telling you to download it) but you can always download it here and have you’re own oppinion.

Download!

1 Response to "Duke Elington & John Coltrane…..One of the best duos of Jazz."

[…] album will be Louis Armstrong & Duke Ellington. This one is very simillar to the previous Jazz Duo I posted but with the touch of Louis Armstrong it sounds a bit more happier and soulful. This is […]

Leave a Reply

